My policy is here

I can't wait to hear from you!

Also if you're a YA author and are interested in being involved with an Indie August event I'm planning please email me!!

I need books to review and give away! I also want some of you lovely people to interview!!

Char :)

Thursday, 22 September 2011

***Review*** Sister, Missing by Sophie McKenzie

On the Back of the Book

It's been two years since the events of Girl, Missing and life is not getting any easier for sixteen-year-old Lauren, as exam pressure and a recent family tragedy take their toll. Lauren's birth mother takes Lauren and her two sisters on holiday in the hope that some time together will help, but a few days into the holiday one of the sisters disappears, under circumstances very similar to those in which Lauren was taken years before. Can Lauren save her sister, and stop the nightmare happening all over again?

Pre Read Thoughts

The second I saw this book in WHSmith I knew that I wouldn't be leaving without it.  As I am poor, this involved me sidling up to my big brother and looking immensely cute. You may mock me but I'm about to read the book so it obviously worked so cheers for the book Dave. I have no idea how much he paid for the book but the RRP is £9.99. Now I know that sounds a bit dear but it is a hardback. I love the cover, it's clean, it's simple, it's eyecatching. As the synopsis tels you this is book 2 so I'm hoping I don't need to remember too much from Girl, Missing.

Post Read Thoughts

Wow. I thought Girl, Missing had a solid ending and didn't nees a sequel but I sure am glad that Sophie McKenzie disagreed with me. I loved it and I nearly shed a few tears over the end. The writing was superb. I've been a fan of McKenzie for quite a few years now and this book just tells you why. I do have a couple of tiny niggles though (to be honest when don't I?). Issue 1: The ransom money as Annie and Sam are American surely the life insurance would have been in dollars not pounds? Issue 2: I guessed a bit of the plot. I know that doesn't seem like much but it was a big revelation to Lauren and I would've liked to have shared her shock.

Lauren is a well written character and being in her head is a joy. She's realistic, she has flaws, she has conflicting emotions and all that makes me love her more. Madison is as cute as a button, I hate kids and even I can see that. Jam is awesome. It's nice to have a leading man that treats his girlfriend with some respect. It's such a refreshing change to half of the guys in YA lit.

Overall I loved this book. It's hard to put down and at 250 pages it's a relatively quick read. The writing was good, the story touching and the characters felt real. Also the lack of supernatural creatures made returning to YA after a few dodgy books a pleasure. I don't regret reading this book, it's a must for fans of Girl, Missing.

My Rating

 4 stars - I don't have any words left to describe how much I enjoyed it. I hoope this book does as well as its predecessor. It deserves great reviews and awards because it just paints an awesomely terrifying concept. Hats off to Sophie, She's delivered again.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...